Thai food and American film

January 7, 2007 at 8:41 pm 1 comment

I went to Julie’s birthday thing in the end. Our mutual friend, Rob, was there with his girlfriend. Julie and Rob’s girlfriend are both teachers, while Rob heads up a school library. This means they’ve all found a reasonably stable career and all earn significantly more than I do. Strangely, in their early-to-mid twenties they all still live with their parents, while I’ve only spent a few months doing that since I was 19. Somebody doesn’t fit in here.

Aside from this, I had a good time. We went to a Thai restaurant. (I had a glass of wine with my meal and a Kahlua coffee afterwards, but that’s not really drinking, is it?) The food was good. We went to the cinema afterwards and spent a good fifteen minutes arguing about what to see, finally deciding on Employee of the Month. It was the kind of movie you feel guilty for liking, not clever, but strangely entertaining. I got a few laughs out of it.

Although I was unable to shake off the feeling that I was faking the sociability, I did feel better going out than staying in. Today I’ve been filled with some unknown dread. Voices in the corridor have had me scrambling to bolt the door. My mother called earlier and I lied my way through the conversation, but there’s nothing new there.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Hungover Escape from the Prison of Dreams

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Arlie  |  October 24, 2014 at 11:31 am

    Wonderful site. A lot of helpful info here. I am sending it to a few pals ans also sharing in delicious.
    And of course, thanks in your effort!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I'm James. I'm a 26 year old guy from England with bipolar disorder (currently well controlled). I also have a circadian rhythm sleep disorder (not so well controlled). This blog has charted my journey from mental illness, through diagnosis and, recently, into recovery. It's not always easy, but then, what is?

Archives

Self-righteous note about smoking

As of 12th September 2008 it has been forty five weeks since I quit smoking. So in another seven weeks it'll have been a whole year.

