Only Hearing Negatives

March 6, 2007 at 12:27 am Leave a comment

And you say I only hear what I want to:
I don’t listen hard,
don’t pay attention to the distance that you’re running
to anyone, anywhere,
I don’t understand if you really care,
I’m only hearing negative: no, no, no.
    — Lisa Loeb, Stay

I called my psychiatrist’s secretary today to ask when I can expect to hear about the therapy and referral. I saw my psychiatrist exactly three weeks ago tomorrow. The locum psychiatrist I saw first time around also promised to refer me for therapy, six weeks ago. The secretary found my file and informed me that nothing had been done yet. “It’s all in the file, though.”

And a lot of good it’s doing in there.

I should be hearing from them in a couple of days, apparently, although “there’s a long waiting list for cbt”. Now, maybe my expectations are far too high, but why exactly did my file have to sit around doing nothing for three weeks? (That’s three weeks in which I’ve been receiving no treatment of any kind.)

So, I’ll wait and see what comes through my door this week. And in the meantime, I can start looking round for a GP that might provide a little more support and knowledge than my current one.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Bad Idea On Counselling

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I'm James. I'm a 26 year old guy from England with bipolar disorder (currently well controlled). I also have a circadian rhythm sleep disorder (not so well controlled). This blog has charted my journey from mental illness, through diagnosis and, recently, into recovery. It's not always easy, but then, what is?

Archives

Self-righteous note about smoking

As of 12th September 2008 it has been forty five weeks since I quit smoking. So in another seven weeks it'll have been a whole year.

