New GP: New Meds

March 26, 2007 at 3:39 pm 2 comments

Just got back from seeing the new GP. He managed to completely derail me a couple of sentences in by deciding to take my blood pressure.

“OK, well, I should just make you aware that I have a history of self-harm and have a few scars you may notice.”

I got back on track, we discussed my problems and my concerns about CBT. He didn’t have much constructive to suggest because he’s obviously read the NICE guidelines and thinks CBT will help (despite my lack of the distorted thinking its designed for). But that’s fine.

What we did agree is that being left for months without anything is no good for me. I suggested that I’d be wary about taking an SSRI without a mood stabiliser of some kind. I wasn’t expecting him to prescribe one, and he didn’t. What he did say was that he’d prefer to try me on a single drug before thinking about that, which I’m happy to go along with. As long as he doesn’t fall into “Well that didn’t work, you’re screwed,” camp.

So, I now have a shiny new prescription of citalopram to try. And I have to see him again before my sick note runs out. Hopefully it’ll work. If not then he seems open to trying other things.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Preparing to see the new GP Answers to Search Queries 3

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sisyphusledge  |  March 27, 2007 at 6:41 am

    Well, that’s a start!

  • 2. Maggie  |  March 27, 2007 at 8:39 am

    Glad to hear he has at least given you something. Good luck with that.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I'm James. I'm a 26 year old guy from England with bipolar disorder (currently well controlled). I also have a circadian rhythm sleep disorder (not so well controlled). This blog has charted my journey from mental illness, through diagnosis and, recently, into recovery. It's not always easy, but then, what is?

Archives

Self-righteous note about smoking

As of 12th September 2008 it has been forty five weeks since I quit smoking. So in another seven weeks it'll have been a whole year.

