Three Things I Like

April 11, 2007 at 2:44 pm Leave a comment

I’m sitting here waiting for my GP appointment and thought I’d write about a couple of things that I like for a change. These are the three webcomics that I keep up with on a regular basis. They’re all quite funny and two have great storylines.

The first is Sluggy Freelance, which I’ve been following for years (it’ll be ten years old in a few months). Back when it started in 1997, it was pretty much a joke-a-day comic, which relied on frequent parodies of TV shows and movies (it managed Star Trek, Aliens, Night of the Living Dead and the X-Files all in its first few months). It grew into something much more than that. The characters, (including a violent mini-lop rabbit called Bun-bun) are some of the most real characters I’ve ever seen in comics. The events they go through are downright bizarre, but the emotional impact on the characters is entirely true-to-life. These are characters who have changed and developed, even when they’re being transformed into camels or being possessed by demons. The art is often excellent, with some truly beautiful sequences. There’s ten years of daily archives to read, which can take a while, but it’s definitely worth it.

The second is a comic I got into more recently, called The Order of the Stick, which is a much geekier affair. It’s a Dungeons and Dragons comic, drawn using the best-looking stick-figures ever. The art is excellent and cartoony, most of the jokes are funny even if you don’t have an encylopaedic knowledge of D&D (although some idea of what a wizard and a cleric are would probably be helpful). It’s generally fairly light-hearted. There’s somewhere over 400 comics there, so the archives should only take you three or four evenings to work though.

My third webcomic is a bit different: xkcd: A webcomic of romance,
sarcasm, math, and language
. It’s not an ongoing story. The art is often fairly rough, but manages to be as expressive as the content needs. It’s probably best described by its disclaimer: “Warning: this comic occasionally contains strong language (which may be unsuitable for children), unusual humor (which may be unsuitable for adults), and advanced mathematics (which may be unsuitable for liberal-arts majors).” The humour is often quite obscure, but often hits exactly the right quirky/bittersweet/elitist tone.

Anyway, it’s now time for me to go tell my doctor that their prescriptions are sending me crazier.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Chimp Fiction Diazepam

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I'm James. I'm a 26 year old guy from England with bipolar disorder (currently well controlled). I also have a circadian rhythm sleep disorder (not so well controlled). This blog has charted my journey from mental illness, through diagnosis and, recently, into recovery. It's not always easy, but then, what is?

Archives

Self-righteous note about smoking

As of 12th September 2008 it has been forty five weeks since I quit smoking. So in another seven weeks it'll have been a whole year.

