More Fun Details from the Psychology Department

May 10, 2007 at 1:48 pm 1 comment

I called the elusive psychologist’s secretary today. She seemed rather nervous, but was actually very helpful. My ninja training as a phone monkey for various organisations has given me the kind of persistence in asking questions until the answers make sense that would put Jeremy Paxman to shame.

So, to summarise my discoveries:

The psychology department received my referral on the 1st of February, a couple of days after Dr. Locum referred me. I was then put on hold by the second psychiatrist, who wanted to see me before recommending therapy. When I phoned them three weeks later, it seemed that nobody had told the psychology department to take me off the hold. They apparently did so eventually, but because of the confusion, nobody bothered to inform me what was going on.

However, this does mean that I’ve been on the waiting list since the original referral and am now near the top of the list. Furthermore, if they decide to refer me for therapy, I keep my original place as of the first referral, so this won’t impact the time I have to wait for that.

The Elusive Psychologist’s secretary will be calling me tomorrow after talking to one of the psychologists to tell me how long I can expect to wait.

This all seems quite positive, which is a pleasant surprise.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Other people’s drama Goodbye Stitches, Citalopram

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. katm  |  May 11, 2007 at 4:55 am

    Yippee!

    A ray of hope.

    Do keep us updated.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I'm James. I'm a 26 year old guy from England with bipolar disorder (currently well controlled). I also have a circadian rhythm sleep disorder (not so well controlled). This blog has charted my journey from mental illness, through diagnosis and, recently, into recovery. It's not always easy, but then, what is?

Archives

Self-righteous note about smoking

As of 12th September 2008 it has been forty five weeks since I quit smoking. So in another seven weeks it'll have been a whole year.

