The Sink

June 11, 2007 at 8:21 pm Leave a comment

Withnail: Right you fucker – I’m going to do the washing up!

[He strides towards the kitchen. I jumps over the arm of the settee and
stops him.]

I: No no you can’t. It’s impossible I swear it. I’ve looked into in. Listen to me listen to me. There are things in there, there’s a tea-bag growing. You haven’t slept in sixty hours you’re in no state to tackle it. Wait till the morning we’ll go in together.

Withnail: This is the morning. Stand aside!

Withnail & I (1986)

I hadn’t actually let the sink fester. There was a mug in the washing-up bowl along with a pint glass and some water that was still mostly clear. But the plug in the sink itself had become blocked with some kind of matter (possibly the remains of a decomposed matchbox I don’t recall ever purchasing which turned out to be flattened and glued to the metal) and the underside of the bowl was coated with some kind of sticky, tar-like substance that laughed at my attempts of cleaning. The inside of the bowl was also kind of disturbing, though probably not dangerous as such. After all, I’ve had time to build up an immunity.

So now I have a new washing-up bowl. It’s a bright red colour.

I went down the supermarket to get this. There’s a story attached to this. One of my colleagues lives down the road from me, in a council flat located directly between my flat and the supermarket. I have little interest in running into anyone from work, primarily because the idea of engaging in random pleasantries just seems like too much work. What can I say to them? “Oh yeah, I know I’ve been off for a while. Went mad, you see.” No.

I was at the ATM outside the supermarket, checking I still remembered the pin-number for my credit card (the one that actually has room for items to be placed on it). The fact I’m using this isn’t as crazy as it may seem. I’m getting some money in the traditional way – from dead relatives – soon, which will enable me to pay off my debts. (It’s not a huge amount of money, but more than I’ve seen in a while). Things like washing-up bowls are sensible purchases that I can justify. Anyway, I had just changed the pin number when I realised that I’d never signed it. Then I saw the colleague from work – possibly. I only saw her from behind. She didn’t say hello, but I think I freaked her out last year when I was in one of my more ranty moods. We didn’t talk much when we were working together after that.

Obviously I couldn’t follow her into the supermarket and I’d completely forgotten the fact that signatures on credit cards are mostly obsolete thanks to the chip & pin thing. I wandered off to look for a shop to sell me a pen, since buying a single pen from a supermarket, then signing a credit card and continuing to shop could be regarded as mildly suspicious. It took me ten minutes to work out my elementary mistake.

I looked at their microwaves, but they were all ludicrously expensive. I’ll go to Argos tomorrow, I think, and pick up a decent cheap microwave for £30 or so.

Cleaning progress is now at 75%. This may seem like it’s taking a long time, but I’d let the flat get into a terrible state and I’ve spent quite a while completely sorting out my paperwork. I also forgot to eat today until a couple of hours ago. That’s nine hours after I woke up. I only remembered because I was in the supermarket anyway.

It’s 9:20 now, and tiredness seems to be catching up with me. This is bad, since I don’t get to go to bed for another six and a half hours. I suspect, however, that I’ll end up feeling horribly awake about 2am.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Cleaning Damn It

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I'm James. I'm a 26 year old guy from England with bipolar disorder (currently well controlled). I also have a circadian rhythm sleep disorder (not so well controlled). This blog has charted my journey from mental illness, through diagnosis and, recently, into recovery. It's not always easy, but then, what is?

Archives

Self-righteous note about smoking

As of 12th September 2008 it has been forty five weeks since I quit smoking. So in another seven weeks it'll have been a whole year.

