The Sleep Cannot Hold

June 20, 2007 at 12:29 pm Leave a comment

Turning and turning in the widening gyre
The falcon cannot hear the falconer;
Things fall apart; the centre cannot hold
    —W.B. Yeats, The Second Coming

Awake at 12:30pm today. This is odd, because I distinctly remember waking up at 9:55am and thinking my alarm would be going off soon. I don’t recall going back to sleep, but I must have. Of course, I didn’t fall asleep until around 6am originally.

The times when I don’t get up at 10am are starting to outnumber the times that I do. And despite oversleeping I seem to be constantly tired. I suspect the quality of sleep is low. I’ve been doing this sleep thing for two weeks now and I doubt I could even maintain this level of sleep-stability in the long term. There’s a constant tendency to drift. As Wikipedia says:

Whilst this technique can provide temporary respite from sleep deprivation, patients often find the desired sleep and wake times soon slip, returning them to a state of delayed sleep onset within a few weeks or even days. The desired pattern can be maintained – to a degree – by following a strictly disciplined timetable for sleeping and rising, but all too often this cannot be maintained, as the body returns to its previous pattern of late sleep onset, regardless of when the patient rises.

Not that Wikipedia is the best source for medical information, but there’s a lack of any real study in this area and it pretty much ties into what I’ve heard anecdotally from DSPS/Non-24-Hour people.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

20% Genius

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I'm James. I'm a 26 year old guy from England with bipolar disorder (currently well controlled). I also have a circadian rhythm sleep disorder (not so well controlled). This blog has charted my journey from mental illness, through diagnosis and, recently, into recovery. It's not always easy, but then, what is?

Archives

Self-righteous note about smoking

As of 12th September 2008 it has been forty five weeks since I quit smoking. So in another seven weeks it'll have been a whole year.

