100mg Codeine

July 7, 2007 at 4:37 am 4 comments

Is quite nice, thank you.

Mild abuse of opiates: More or less harmful than self-injury? Discuss.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Feh II Post-Codeine

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. patientanonymous  |  July 7, 2007 at 11:17 pm

    Oh crap. Do you remember my “codeine incident?” After I was up all night and could not sleep at all? My tummy was a disaster!!! So much pain…PA can never take codeine ever again…

    Listen, people self medicate with so much, legal or illegal–booze, opiates pot…need I go on?

    If you’re doing it on a regular basis–that can be harmful, yes. If you binge every once in a while? Well, hell.

    Either way, with my self medication history, I would never judge anyone anyway. Be concerned, of course.

    Just be careful, okay?

    Hugs,
    PA

  • 2. experimental chimp  |  July 8, 2007 at 4:35 am

    Thanks PA. I’m careful (just posted about this in more detail as well). Codeine definitely has a slightly disturbing effect on the digestive system, so I can well imagine that for someone with GI problems it would cause problems. Never, ever take hydrocodeine: Its GI effects are even stronger than codeine.

  • 3. patientanonymous  |  July 8, 2007 at 6:44 pm

    Yep, know about the GI factor–just never had a problem before but now I’m so challenged it probably just made it all the worse?

  • 4. experimental chimp  |  July 8, 2007 at 7:03 pm

    Have you ever taken that much codeine all at once before? Prescribed dosages don’t usually go above 60mg and 30mg is a more typical dose.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I'm James. I'm a 26 year old guy from England with bipolar disorder (currently well controlled). I also have a circadian rhythm sleep disorder (not so well controlled). This blog has charted my journey from mental illness, through diagnosis and, recently, into recovery. It's not always easy, but then, what is?

Archives

Self-righteous note about smoking

As of 12th September 2008 it has been forty five weeks since I quit smoking. So in another seven weeks it'll have been a whole year.

