library / cheques

August 31, 2007 at 8:54 am 4 comments

In the interest of recording positive things as well as negative ones, I’m noting this here. A couple of days ago I managed to get down to the bank to deposit a couple of cheques and then to the library to photocopy my most recent sick note. While at the library I asked about the huge fine on my account from last year when I was still working and was slowly collapsing into a heap of uselessness. They gave me the name and address of the head of library services to write to.

Writing? With paper and ink and stuff? My first response was to look for an email address for the person. I sent her an email last night and this morning the reply came, in which the fine will be waived. Meaning I can use the library for more than photocopying again.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Standard Depressive Monologue dolescum

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gabriel...  |  August 31, 2007 at 9:05 am

    This kind of thing, dealing with the mundane (or what is considered as mundane), is still a huge thing for me. Just getting past the “why bother” or “there’s no use” wall and writing a cheque for an outstanding bill is a serious undertaking. I consider those kinds of things to be a serious accomplishment… so way to go.

  • 2. darkentries  |  August 31, 2007 at 9:32 am

    absolutely. i have two years of tax returns outstanding that would take me, maybe 3 or 4 hours to sort out. instead i seem to be accumulating ever larger threats and fines…
    bah.

  • 3. Bryan  |  September 1, 2007 at 4:43 am

    I find that procrastination with me is something that I have to learn how to deal with as it goes. I can take care of the things that I want to do just fine it would seem, but when it comes to some of the important things in life I just can’t seem to get around it sometimes. It all becomes a mess that it would seem to be a lot harder to deal with than what it truly is in some cases.

    I know the feeling with having over due books and not taking care of the fines. Hell I don’t think I can go to any library that is close to where I live without having to cough up a small fortune. So i digress and just go on not using the facility because i can’t even trust myself to do something that is free right. Oh well that’s the way that it goes I guess.

    Congrats on you taking care of your problem with it though that must have seemed like a huge deal to overcome finally.

  • 4. experimental chimp  |  September 2, 2007 at 3:52 am

    Dealing with things is a definite problem for me. I have a stack of letters from the council about unpaid council-tax as proof. Getting the library thing sorted out was definitely a good thing (and my lack of comments may have been due to having read two books in as many days). When it was just my employer who needed to see my sick notes, I had a tendency to leave it until they called me to find out where they were. Even knowing that fairly significant amounts of money depend on me mailing the sick-notes to various places, I still took over a week to get it done.

    But a week’s better than a month, so I guess I can feel good about that.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I'm James. I'm a 26 year old guy from England with bipolar disorder (currently well controlled). I also have a circadian rhythm sleep disorder (not so well controlled). This blog has charted my journey from mental illness, through diagnosis and, recently, into recovery. It's not always easy, but then, what is?

Archives

Self-righteous note about smoking

As of 12th September 2008 it has been forty five weeks since I quit smoking. So in another seven weeks it'll have been a whole year.

