My bathroom sparkles now

September 28, 2007 at 6:57 pm 3 comments

My paperwork day yesterday went wrong after I discovered that I utterly lacked any of the requisite stationery. I probably have some envelopes hanging around somewhere, but I suspect they’re underneath some other paperwork, or in a drawer, or under the sofa or somewhere. So I abandoned my paperwork day. I did fill out the pointless form from the housing benefit people, but without an envelope to put it in, I was stuck. The electoral register had its own envelope, so I did that too. The important stuff that means I actually get money to live on had to remain undone for the time being.

My usual reaction to this obstacle would be to give up, swear repeatedly and then forget about it until the threatening letters arrived. That, fortunately, is not what happened.

I simply moved the task down on my list and added “get enevelopes and stamps” to it. I moved “clean the bathroom” up and did that instead. So now I have a clean bathroom, which is nice. The rest of the flat still sucks, but I don’t have to care about that yet, so I’m not going to. One clean room in a flat is better than no clean rooms, after all.

Who knew that sticking your head in the sand could be a good thing?

Today I went out and got the envelopes and some stamps. I found the addresses and references I need and in a moment I’m going to wander down to the post box and send my evenlopes on their way. So now I have a clean bathroom and most of my paperwork up to date. While i was out I picked up some cleaning materials that I’ll need tomorrow when my one thing to do is clean the main room of my flat. (I may actually separate that into two tasks, but we’ll see how I feel tomorrow…)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Yesterday’s Thing More cleaning…

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. patientanonymous  |  September 28, 2007 at 9:08 pm

    Again, fucking brilliant. This is how I’ve been coping and still am ever since I got out of hospital…and yes…just one step, day, whatever at a time.

    Don’t push it…do what you can do and that’s all that can be expected. No one’s asking or expecting you to run a marathon–and neither should you be doing that of yourself.

    PA

  • 2. katm  |  September 29, 2007 at 12:14 pm

    I’ve been following you for the last few days. I just have to say, “WELL DONE”!

    This is pretty much how I’m tacking most things in my life right now.

  • 3. Ian  |  September 29, 2007 at 11:14 pm

    Well, after catching up on your posts, I just wanted to say I admire your strength. As an adolescent, my first psychiatrist had been treating me for ADD for years without ever taking me seriously when I told him about my anxiety. When I eventually told him that I couldn’t go on like this and begged him for some sort of anxiolytic medication just to get me through the following day, he said he didn’t want to treat me anymore. I think I had never been as close to committing suicide as I was back then. What I’m trying to say is that I understand how terrible it is to sit opposite a mental health care professional being totally oblivious of how thin the thread actually is you’re hanging by. Sometimes it’s hard to believe how carelessly some doctors who wont listen or mental crisis teams who aren’t in the mood of talking to someone presenting at the hospital trifle with the lives of desperate people.
    I think it’s so great that you don’t give up on yourself in the face of apathy and try to pull yourself out of the pit instead. I think I finally found a doctor I trust in and for a few weeks I have been on a trial of an antidepressant that might actually be working; and I hope you will find a way that works for you, too. In my opinion your one step at a time programme is a great thing.

    Best wishes
    Ian

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I'm James. I'm a 26 year old guy from England with bipolar disorder (currently well controlled). I also have a circadian rhythm sleep disorder (not so well controlled). This blog has charted my journey from mental illness, through diagnosis and, recently, into recovery. It's not always easy, but then, what is?

Archives

Self-righteous note about smoking

As of 12th September 2008 it has been forty five weeks since I quit smoking. So in another seven weeks it'll have been a whole year.

