Referrals and Programmes

October 12, 2007 at 8:34 am 2 comments

So I’ve been kind of busy these last couple of days. I went off to a near town for Rob’s girlfriend’s birthday thing, which was actually rather quiet. Nice to get out though (and not have to worry about paying for drinks /train fare/taxi). Terry Pratchett’s latest book, Making Monkey also arrived (delayed by the postal strike), so I spent the rest of the day (or, rather, night) reading that.

By which time it was 8am and I had an appointment to go to at 11:30am. So I got a couple of hours sleep before staggering into the city. I saw an occupational therapist who was assessing me for the JobCentre’s Condition Management Programme. I’m on it and should be doing it in November. I did some shopping (like getting a card for another friend’s birthday which I’ll be at this weekend) and came home.

Another piece of mail, dislodged from the inertia of the postal strike had arrived. It was a letter from the NHS asking me to make an appointment with the psychiatrist I’ll be seeing. Here’s how this works:

28th June: CPN #1 agrees that I should see another psychiatrist and decides to refer me over to the new sector so that this can occur.

17th September: I see CPN #2 as my assessment upon being transferred to the new sector. She decides that yes, I actually do need to see the psychiatrist.

21st November: I’ll finally see the psychiatrist 146 days (or just under five months) after the decision for this to happen was made.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

An NLP practitioner on depression Weekend

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ade  |  October 12, 2007 at 2:17 pm

    Appalling, isn’t it. I was referred to a consultant psych. at my local hospital in February, and still haven’t actually seen him.

  • 2. experimental chimp  |  October 12, 2007 at 9:24 pm

    Ade: I’d recommend speaking to your local PALS (Patient Advice and Liaison Service), if you haven’t already. You should be able to find their details on your local Care Trust website. They should be able to chase up what’s happening for you.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I'm James. I'm a 26 year old guy from England with bipolar disorder (currently well controlled). I also have a circadian rhythm sleep disorder (not so well controlled). This blog has charted my journey from mental illness, through diagnosis and, recently, into recovery. It's not always easy, but then, what is?

Archives

Self-righteous note about smoking

As of 12th September 2008 it has been forty five weeks since I quit smoking. So in another seven weeks it'll have been a whole year.

