Not Fired

October 24, 2007 at 1:14 pm 8 comments

So, my manager from work has been and gone and I still have a job. I have no idea why they couldn’t have done this over the phone/post. All I had to do was say what was going on with me and my various illnesses and stick my signature on a form. They’re requesting a medical report and such.

Meanwhile, my back is continuing to hurt. It’s not an “oh my god that hurts!” pain, but has me swearing every now and then. I think it’s probably a trapped nerve or something, because the tip of my little finger has become oddly numb. Hopefully it’ll go away in a day or two.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Quick Note Exercise etc.

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gabriel...  |  October 25, 2007 at 4:15 pm

    I don’t know… a friend of a cousin of mine’s finger went numb and she had a sore back and the doctor said it was cancer. I think you have cancer. Have you given the idea you have cancer any thought? I would. Expecially considering what happened to my cousin’s friend. But someone told her eating kelp would help so she did and she’s still alive. I think you should eat kelp because you probably have cancer.

  • 2. experimental chimp  |  October 25, 2007 at 4:20 pm

    The back’s better now, but the finger’s still numb for some reason. I can’t find Kelp at my local supermarket. Do you think broccoli would be an equally cancer-curing substitute?

  • 3. Gabriel...  |  October 25, 2007 at 4:50 pm

    I don’t know, the prescription seemed pretty leaf specific. Have you thought at all about meningitis or anthrax? I bet it’s anthrax. I got an email one time that said if you have anthrax you should mix baking soda and hydrogen peroxide together then use it as a toothpaste. But brush your teeth really vigourosly. That should clear up the anthrax. If there’s a pain afterwards behind your testicles you know it’s worked.

  • 4. anonymous mom  |  October 25, 2007 at 6:26 pm

    i can’t believe you two have overlooked the possibility of crutzfeld-jacobs disease – that always begins with an unspecified pain in the back! i don’t want to tell you how it ends.

  • 5. Gabriel...  |  October 25, 2007 at 6:46 pm

    Man, that would suck. I had that once, took forever to get rid of… I had to use this cream made out of cocoa butter and the dust of blood diamonds. Made me itch for days.

  • 6. experimental chimp  |  October 26, 2007 at 6:48 am

    Fun fact: Broccoli is actually a cabbage gone horribly wrong (tasty though…) I may have just made that up, actually. The finger is now no longer numb. Obviously this means the disease has merely progressed to the second, hidden phase. I hope it’s not Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease… my brain feels spongy enough at the best of times and those blood diamonds are expensive.

  • 7. broke  |  October 26, 2007 at 6:25 pm

    Good to hear that you’ve still got a job. I’m always paranoid about this kind of scenario too. Hope your back gets better soon – my friend swears by a physio who she sees every couple of weeks at the moment. She has to pay as there is probably a huge waiting list via the NHS (if psychotherapy is anything to go by the wait could be years….)
    Take care
    B

  • 8. Gabriel...  |  October 27, 2007 at 12:50 am

    Are you sure you still have a job? Maybe they’re just messing with your head. I’ll bet they’ll come back every other day, dressed exactly the same, and have the same conversation. I’m pretty sure you’ve been fired and now they’re just seeing how far they can taunt you before you start eating your own feces. Yeah, you’ve been fired. No wonder your back hurt. I’d move.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I'm James. I'm a 26 year old guy from England with bipolar disorder (currently well controlled). I also have a circadian rhythm sleep disorder (not so well controlled). This blog has charted my journey from mental illness, through diagnosis and, recently, into recovery. It's not always easy, but then, what is?

Archives

Self-righteous note about smoking

As of 12th September 2008 it has been forty five weeks since I quit smoking. So in another seven weeks it'll have been a whole year.

