fridge / psychiatrist

November 21, 2007 at 2:05 am 2 comments

I have my new fridge. It’s awesome. Now I just need to get some food to put in it. Plus, I can use the box it came in as an awesome box-fort. For such a cheap model it looks pretty cool (no pun intended). I already made ice. Now, when I get some fruit I can make smoothies.

The sleep stuff continues along its weird course. I had to stay up a little late for the delivery people. Then I stayed up even later, until I finally got to bed at 8pm, 24 hours after I got up last night. Now I’m wide awake after five hours of sleep. Unfortunately I only have five cigarettes to last me until the shops open many hours away.

Then in the afternoon I have my appointment with the psychiatrists. It’s been a while since any new medical characters entered the drama of my treatment. Fuck knows how it’s going to go. I know what I want out of the appointment though:

1. An acknowledgement that borderline personality disorder is an inaccurate and unhelpful diagnosis for me.

2. Serious consideration of the possibility that bipolar II may be a more accurate diagnosis.

3. Medication. Specifically, a mood stabiliser.

4. Ongoing and easily accessed monitoring of how the meds are working, particularly if/when I get depressed again.

That list’s in decreasing order of the likelihood of actually getting any of them. So expect a fun post in twelve hours time bitterly complaining about the ones I didn’t get. Hell I’ll rate it out of four based on which happened.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Another couple of days YouTube Music Wednesday

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alison  |  November 21, 2007 at 3:15 pm

    Good Luck with your appointment.

  • 2. experimental chimp  |  November 21, 2007 at 3:51 pm

    Thanks Alison. I’ve just got back. It went really well.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I'm James. I'm a 26 year old guy from England with bipolar disorder (currently well controlled). I also have a circadian rhythm sleep disorder (not so well controlled). This blog has charted my journey from mental illness, through diagnosis and, recently, into recovery. It's not always easy, but then, what is?

Archives

Self-righteous note about smoking

As of 12th September 2008 it has been forty five weeks since I quit smoking. So in another seven weeks it'll have been a whole year.

