Goodbye Cigarettes

November 28, 2007 at 4:37 am 8 comments

Oh Christ. I’m down to my last cigarette. But I have fourteen nicotine patches and 96 pieces of minty-fresh nicotine-laden chewing gum, which should make things a bit easier. These were all free and prescribed to me after my smoking cessation appointment at the doctor’s yesterday.

It’s very slightly scary. Expect anguished “I WAAAANT A CIIIIGARETTTTTEEEEEE!!!!” posts over the next few weeks.

So, I’m taking my last cigarette out of the pack and lighting it. Dear sweet God, but it’s good. Well, it’d suck if the last cigarette I ever smoke wasn’t awesome.

£35 a week.
£1820 a year.

I love smoking. Even though it’s bad for me and makes my clothes stink. Even though it’ll probably kill me.

This is harder than breaking up with my ex was.

So, I’m putting my last cigarette out.

Goodbye cigarettes. I’ll miss you.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Smoking YouTube Music Wednesday

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Drömmare  |  November 28, 2007 at 7:32 am

    Wishing you luck, you can do it. I had a friend who gave up she’s been free of them now for two and half years!

  • 2. darkentries  |  November 28, 2007 at 9:40 am

    Chocolate. Lots of chocolate.

    And some nasty herbal cigarettes for when your willpower completely collapses.
    I found chewing liqorice bark also helped. Anything stick shaped.

    But mainly chocolate. Gets you high. Good replacement. The more cocoa the better.

    Good luck. 3 years and counting since I quit.
    Try to keep busy. If you have time to think you have time to want a smoke.

  • 3. thordora  |  November 28, 2007 at 4:37 pm

    Good luck! If you’re ready, you can do it.

    Be warned though-people STINK. About a month after I quit, I noticed I could smell again. Which isn’t necessarily a good thing.

    Change your habits, where you eat, drink, etc. Might help.

  • 4. janey  |  November 28, 2007 at 8:46 pm

    Good luck!

  • 5. Gabriel...  |  November 29, 2007 at 10:26 am

    Don’t leave any behind, toss the ashtrays and lighters and when the urge hits repeat “I’m not a smoker” in your head until it goes away. Having lots of fruit and vegetables available to keep your hand-to-mouth behaviour in check helps as well…

  • 6. Borderline Crazy  |  November 29, 2007 at 1:34 pm

    Good luck! Quitting is so freaking hard, but once you’re free from the addiction it feels very freeing. Also I like not having to budget for more and more money every month (where I live taxes just got higher and higher…)!

  • 7. experimental chimp  |  December 5, 2007 at 6:59 pm

    I’m a bit late in replying to this, but I’m at a week now and everything’s going great. I walked past someone who was smoking today and the smell of the smoke pretty much gave me an extra reason for staying off them. Thanks for your hints, suggestions and support, everyone.

  • 8. Back at Work « Experimental Chimp  |  November 28, 2008 at 10:31 pm

    […] ago today that I gave up smoking (my last cigarette was actually sometime around Christmas, but I made the decision to quit on November 28th 2007). It might not have been the perfect time to quit, but it was so worthwhile in the […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I'm James. I'm a 26 year old guy from England with bipolar disorder (currently well controlled). I also have a circadian rhythm sleep disorder (not so well controlled). This blog has charted my journey from mental illness, through diagnosis and, recently, into recovery. It's not always easy, but then, what is?

Archives

Self-righteous note about smoking

As of 12th September 2008 it has been forty five weeks since I quit smoking. So in another seven weeks it'll have been a whole year.

