YouTube Music Wednesday

November 28, 2007 at 9:44 pm 1 comment

This is Tom Waits singing Bad Liver and a Broken Heart in 1977. You can find a recording on his album Small Change. I got into Tom Waits back when I was in university, mainly because the man’s a damned genius. The best argument for smoking the world’s ever had, too.

If you like this, check out the uploader’s other videos, which include everything else from this set; they’re pretty much mandatory listening for any Tom Waits fan.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Goodbye Cigarettes Demeaning of Life

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Margaret  |  November 29, 2007 at 8:04 pm

    I, too, love Tom Waits, have done ever since a Sixth Form party at the house of the Head of Sixth Form when I heard him for the very first time. About twenty years before you, I imagine. I still don’t think you can beat his growls, Blood Money, in particular for late- night-in-front-of-open-fire-listening-and-musing. Except for possibly Brad Mehldau …

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I'm James. I'm a 26 year old guy from England with bipolar disorder (currently well controlled). I also have a circadian rhythm sleep disorder (not so well controlled). This blog has charted my journey from mental illness, through diagnosis and, recently, into recovery. It's not always easy, but then, what is?

Archives

Self-righteous note about smoking

As of 12th September 2008 it has been forty five weeks since I quit smoking. So in another seven weeks it'll have been a whole year.

