Nicotine withdrawal

December 11, 2007 at 1:15 am 3 comments

I got sick of wearing my nicotine patch today. They’re just annoying. So I took off the one that I’d had on for the past 24 hours and didn’t replace it. This has turned out to be interesting. I’m not completely nicotine-free by any means. I still have the delicious fruit-flavour nicotine-laden chewing gum. But I can actually feel the nicotine withdrawal now.

Normally, the feeling of needing a cigarette is something that you feel in your throat. Because I haven’t smoked for nearly two weeks, it doesn’t feel like that at all. I don’t really feel like I need a cigarette; I just feel fucked up. I’m chewing lots of the gum. My mood has become unpredictable, with these shallow moments of OH GOD LIFE IS SO UNFAIR followed by getting distracted by something and then back to the OH GOD LIFE IS SO UNFAIRness.

Nicotine withdrawal seems to increase the visual weirdness I sometimes experience by quite a lot.

Sleep time now as tomorrow I have an appointment at the smoking cessation clinic. I think.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Two unfinished posts One year later…

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gabriel...  |  December 11, 2007 at 4:22 am

    Apples buddy, stuff some of those irradiated EU apples into your maw when the feeling gets unbearable… maybe put a patch on one of them before you go to bed so it’s properly nicotine filled when you wake up.

  • 2. Simon  |  December 14, 2007 at 11:12 pm

    After a week without nicotine, I probably could describe my state as returning to childhood. I had absolutely no control over my emotions or mental state, not to mention trying to concentrate. Second week was better with some occasional, unexpected and totally irrational bursts of wanting to light up. Still smoke free. Emotional wreck. Oh yea. Good luck on your attempt. It’s worth quitting.

  • 3. experimental chimp  |  December 19, 2007 at 12:11 am

    Thanks Simon. That pretty much describes how I am a lot of the time anyway…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I'm James. I'm a 26 year old guy from England with bipolar disorder (currently well controlled). I also have a circadian rhythm sleep disorder (not so well controlled). This blog has charted my journey from mental illness, through diagnosis and, recently, into recovery. It's not always easy, but then, what is?

Archives

Self-righteous note about smoking

As of 12th September 2008 it has been forty five weeks since I quit smoking. So in another seven weeks it'll have been a whole year.

