YouTube Music Thursday

January 3, 2008 at 5:07 am 1 comment

I still have the flu, which is why I missed Youtube Music Wednesday. So to make up for it, heres some music (none of it actually very good) intermixed with a confession.

One of the less shameful secrets in my life is that I was bit late getting into music. My earliest exposure to music was the late-50’s and early-60’s pop songs my mother used to sing. They were mostly about dead teenagers. Like Teen Angel by Mark Dinning:

or Tell Laura I Love Her by Ray Peterson:

She even threw in some later death-related stuff, like I Did What I Did For Maria by Tony Christie (from 1971):

I’m sure she must have sung some less morbid songs. For example, The Battle of New Orleans by… well, various people, but my mum was probably recalling the Lonnie Donegan version. It’s quite cheerful in tone. Thinking about it, though, there’s something a bit odd about a British musician singing happily about a British military defeat. Then again, Lonnie Donegan was a skiffle musician. Skiffle was what the British had before we had good music. The song itself was nicked from an American artist.

My mum actually had pretty awful taste in music, all things considered.

What I should probably point out, because I’ve noticed now that it is a little odd, is that neither of my parents ever actually played any music. I seem to recall a box of records existing at one point, but only ever seen when brought down from the attic upon moving out of a house and placed into the attic upon moving into the next. My parents didn’t even turn on the radios in their cars – they still don’t. Not that my father drives any more. The rest of the family were little better: My brother has never actually liked music very much. And when I lived in the same house as her, my sister was a teenage girl and therefore spent most of her time listening to boy-bands like Bros:

I accumulated a few tapes (and later CDs), but I didn’t really start listening to music that I actually felt excited about until I was 17 or 18.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Flu Drunken Self-Harm

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Ruth  |  January 3, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    Ahhh… you can’t beat a bit of retro Tony Christie!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I'm James. I'm a 26 year old guy from England with bipolar disorder (currently well controlled). I also have a circadian rhythm sleep disorder (not so well controlled). This blog has charted my journey from mental illness, through diagnosis and, recently, into recovery. It's not always easy, but then, what is?

Archives

Self-righteous note about smoking

As of 12th September 2008 it has been forty five weeks since I quit smoking. So in another seven weeks it'll have been a whole year.

