Psychiatrist Appointment

January 21, 2008 at 3:08 pm 6 comments

I went to see my psychiatrist today. This is a good thing since I’ve been feeling like shit and everything has become an often-incomprehensible ordeal. This was true of both the bus journey there (public transport sucks anyway, but it sucks even more when you want all the fucking people on the bus to go away and leave you alone), and also of the appointment with the psychiatrist, during which I utterly failed to communicate like a normal human being, because forgetting what you’re saying between starting a sentence and reaching its end, combined with a sudden inability to read any conversational cues in other people will turn you into a mumbling idiot, or a close approximation thereof.

On the bus ride home, the bus stopped at a random stop and everyone had to get off. I still don’t understand what was going on. It wasn’t a problem as such, though.

Anyway, somehow I communicated my recent suicidal ideation and depressiveness to the psychiatrist. I didn’t say anything about my recent drunken self-harm incident, not because I was hiding it, but just because it didn’t really come up. We went through a few medication options. These were mirtazapine (AKA Remeron), lamotrigine (AKA Lamictal) and quetiapine (AKA Seroquel). Mirtazapine, being an antidepressant, could induce rapid cycling. Given that I put myself in hospital last time this happened, this seems like a bad idea. Lamotrigine is a good option, but titrating up to full dosage takes up to 12 weeks. So, we went with quetiapine, which can be titrated up in a matter of days. It makes sense to try the easy one first.

I’ll be on 300mg a day, split into two doses. Before this, however, I get to have a pre-treatment blood-test. This is mostly for my glucose and lipids, but since I’m getting blood drawn, lots of other stuff is getting checked at the same time.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Mr. Lovecraft Seroquel

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. exactscience  |  January 21, 2008 at 11:10 pm

    I don’t want to be too negative on it but seroquel is particular good at sedation. Given your sleep disordered history is a bi daily dose a great idea?

    This is as much concern as it is a pharmacological enquiry. Being a pharmacist in training gets tiring.

    Sounds like a positive start with the psych though.

    Take care Dude.

  • 2. experimental chimp  |  January 22, 2008 at 4:07 am

    If it’s too sedating, it can always be adjusted. I’d probably be comfortable doing it myself and telling the psychiatrist about it later (“Oh yeah, and I switched to taking the whole dose before going to bed, which seemed to work out better…”)

    I’m actually interested to see how sedating seroquel will be for me, because that effect seem to works along the same lines as over-the-counter sleep medications, which don’t usually do much for me.

  • 3. exactscience  |  January 22, 2008 at 7:53 am

    Sounds like you have a good handle on it. Really hope it works out for you.

  • 4. katm  |  January 22, 2008 at 11:29 am

    Seroquel was quite sedating for me. And that was a good thing. It helped a lot with my PTSD and borderline symptoms.

    Good luck with it.

  • 5. Ruth  |  January 24, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    Lamotrigine worked/works wonders on my impulsiveness and mood swings when it’s titrated up to the full dose, but given all the health issues at moment it’s being increased quite slowly.

    Never tried an anti-psychotic. Mind you, never communicated my visual hallucinations to anyone for fear of not being believed after a previous psych told me my hearing voices were just pseudo-hallucinations and simply my own thoughts!

  • 6. experimental chimp  |  January 25, 2008 at 8:16 am

    katm: Thanks.

    Ruth: I’ve communicated my visual symptoms occasionally, but they’re generally not so bad that anything gets done.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I'm James. I'm a 26 year old guy from England with bipolar disorder (currently well controlled). I also have a circadian rhythm sleep disorder (not so well controlled). This blog has charted my journey from mental illness, through diagnosis and, recently, into recovery. It's not always easy, but then, what is?

Archives

Self-righteous note about smoking

As of 12th September 2008 it has been forty five weeks since I quit smoking. So in another seven weeks it'll have been a whole year.

