mp3 player, therapy, seroquel and sleep

February 28, 2008 at 1:37 am 2 comments

So today on the bus I got to thinking that I should get an mp3 player. I used to have one, but it went through the washing machine and, although it still kind of worked, didn’t work all that well. It wasn’t a very good one anyway. It was only 128MB. And since I just got a grand of back-paid income support, it’s not like I can’t afford a decent one now. So I’m getting this. Plus some nice headphones from Creative. (Putting headphones through the washing machine strips the insulation off the wires. Seriously.) Plus a 2GB SDMicro Card, to go in the expansion slot and enable me to carry around 4GB of music.

Today’s session of therapy was interesting. As part of the whole CAT process, my therapist wrote me a letter summarising everything we’ve discussed and what problems we’ll be focusing on first. These are my habit of coping alone and my pretence that all is fine when it isn’t. We spent today discussing how I’m probably going to do both of these during therapy, and that I’ll need to do my best to let my therapist know how I’m feeling. I also disclosed the existence of this blog, though not any details that would allow it to be found. I’m supposed to be thinking about whether the remaining 9 sessions of the 16 will be enough or if we should extend it to 20 sessions or even 24. 9 sessions seems an awfully short time to deal with any of my weirdness, so I think I’ll suggest 20, which gives me an extra month.

The cuts are healing well. Meanwhile, I’ve somehow slipped into 24 hour days and 12 hour nights, for a grand total of 32 hours per sleep-wake cycle. This is the worst of all possible sleep patterns, because you end up flipping between daytime and nighttime phases and your brain goes BANG. Stupid Seroquel. It doesn’t even keep me asleep now. I’m fully capable of waking up two or three hours after taking it and wandering around like I’ve just suffered a severe concussion. Stupid Seroquel.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

The Earth Moves Seroquel and my really screwed-up sleep patterns

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lizzie  |  February 28, 2008 at 11:37 pm

    Oh boy, According to recent news I find out there is a possibilty my Prozac will poop out on me and now seroquel, the only thing that gets me to sleep could go awry as well? AARRGH!

  • 2. experimental chimp  |  February 29, 2008 at 12:12 am

    I wouldn’t worry Lizzie. I’m the only person I know who has this kind of trouble with seroquel. And I started out with really screwed-up sleep patterns. So you’ll probably be fine.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I'm James. I'm a 26 year old guy from England with bipolar disorder (currently well controlled). I also have a circadian rhythm sleep disorder (not so well controlled). This blog has charted my journey from mental illness, through diagnosis and, recently, into recovery. It's not always easy, but then, what is?

Archives

Self-righteous note about smoking

As of 12th September 2008 it has been forty five weeks since I quit smoking. So in another seven weeks it'll have been a whole year.

