Front page!

April 16, 2008 at 2:30 am 7 comments

A recent post of mine – How Empty Science Becomes Wisdom – hit the front page of WordPress. Which was kind of disconcerting for a post that I wrote on the spur of the moment because something annoyed me. This is actually the second time one of my posts has been on the front page – the first was this post about AstraZeneca editing Wikipedia articles about its own drugs. Maybe I should put my investigative journalist hat on more often?

Today I had to go to the JobCentre for a work-focused interview. This did not last long as I’m pretty much where I was last time around. I’m still waiting for the sleep thing. I’ve just switched to a new treatment for the bipolar stuff. So they’ve decided that I no longer have to go to these interviews. It’s taken them about seven months to work out that I’m not well. In a way it’s like they’ve been taunting me: Look at the shiny benefits we’d give you if you weren’t too screwed up to get a job!

I have therapy in about six hours. This week has been really badly scheduled, with appointments on three consecutive days. This always screws my sleep pattern up. I’m going to go to bed shortly, get me my three hours of sleep. If my all new half-doses of Seroquel will let me sleep, that is. I’d take a temazepam – I haven’t taken any for a week or so now, so my tolerence has probably worn off – but I’d end up a zombie throughout my therapy. More of a zombie anyway.

I need to call my doctor to schedule my blood test. Things have been busy so I’ve been putting it off. I think I’ve also been putting it off because my scars are all very recent and obvious and the idea of having to get my arms out for blood to be drawn isn’t the best. I hate the way they look at the moment. And yeah, the nurse has probably seen it all before, but it’ll still make me feel like crap.

Anyway. Sleep.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Psychiatrist Today Falling Asleep on the Bus

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. BPD in OKC  |  April 16, 2008 at 4:26 am

    Does Seroquel make you where you can’t sleep? I take it and it doesn’t seem to be affecting my sleep. Before Seroquel, I was on Abilify, and it made me sleep all day long. I could barely drag myself out of bed on it.

    I hear you on the scars. I always used to worry about going to the doctor and having someone see my scars. I was afraid they’d lock me up so I couldn’t hurt myself.

  • 2. Gabriel...  |  April 16, 2008 at 11:27 am

    Try wrapping material around your forearms and telling people you’re Ryu and if they piss you off you’ll make with the Wave Fist and totally send a fireball into their midsection… then clasp your hands together and yell SHORYUKEN. That’ll keep their eyes off the scars. At least the visible ones. It’ll probably draw attention to the ones in your head though…

  • 3. giannakali  |  April 16, 2008 at 12:25 pm

    I’ve been on the front page a few times…my sense was that it was random…

    Anyone know how people get there?

  • 4. Gabriel...  |  April 16, 2008 at 2:06 pm

    I see Nita there all the time. I’ve been in the “Health” section quite a bit, but only on the splash page once when WP played an April Fool’s joke on everyone last year. Yeah, that was funny. I’m not entirely sure but I think I was a BOTD once…

    Anyway…

    The Rules:
    wordpress.com/blog/2007/08/06/categories-and-news-departments/

    According to The Rules you have to:

    1. upload an avatar if you haven’t already,
    2. use the categories below* when you blog on relevant topics, and
    3. attract lots of readers to your posts.

    *Categories: Business; Cars; Entertainment; Family; Health, Politics;Religion; Science; Sports; Technology; Travel; Video; World

    I think they’ve added a few since the first announcement… the default category for recovery blogs should be ‘Health’. If you go to Settings: Writing in your Dashboard you can set the defaults there.

    After all that… yeah, it’s pretty much random.

  • 5. solarees  |  April 16, 2008 at 7:36 pm

    hope you get some sleep this time.
    Good luck with your therapy .

  • 6. experimental chimp  |  April 17, 2008 at 3:58 am

    BPD in OKC: Seroquel really messes with my sleep. For the first week or two it was rather sedating, but after that it started making it really difficult to sleep.

    I know that medical people seeing my scars isn’t going to have any consequences – my doctors know that I self-injure anyway – I just don’t like people seeing them.

    Gabriel: It also helps if you don’t swear in a post. Which excludes my blog most of the time. Incidentally, according to Wikipedia “Hadouken” means “Wave Motion Fist” so I might just scream that instead. Can’t expect people here to understand Japanese.

    Solarees: Thanks.

  • 7. Rose  |  April 17, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    It was a really good post! Yays for recognition!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I'm James. I'm a 26 year old guy from England with bipolar disorder (currently well controlled). I also have a circadian rhythm sleep disorder (not so well controlled). This blog has charted my journey from mental illness, through diagnosis and, recently, into recovery. It's not always easy, but then, what is?

Archives

Self-righteous note about smoking

As of 12th September 2008 it has been forty five weeks since I quit smoking. So in another seven weeks it'll have been a whole year.

