therapy / keyboard / aladdin / cfl

May 14, 2008 at 8:54 pm 2 comments

Therapy today went well. Then I came home, (accidentally) broke my computer’s keyboard and went out again to get a new one from Maplins. It’s nice to have a keyboard that doesn’t have a three-year old plague factory composed of crumbs and dead skin cells slowly evolving in its inner workings. This new one – the cheap wired model from Microsoft – also has a range of semi-useless buttons at the top. You mean I can launch the calculator simply by pressing a button on my keyboard?! Wow! My verdict so far: Not clicky enough, but decent enough for a tenner.

It’s the first keyboard I’ve ever had that has a detailed safety warning filled with paranoia about musculo-skeletal diseases. Seriously. There’s even a tag on the lead that says in black lettering on a bright red background: See bottom of keyboard for HEALTH WARNING!. It also instructs me not to remove the tag. Oh, Microsoft, with this crazy liability evasion you are really spoiling us!

I played with my guitar for a while and now the tips of my first three fingers are an interesting mix between numb and bruised. Still, I can now almost play the whole of the song A Whole New World from the Disney movie Aladdin. Yes. I know. Don’t think I’m proud of it, but it was the least complicated song I could find tabs for – all single notes played slowly, which is just about my level at the moment.

While I was getting my new keyboard, I also picked up some CFL’s (that’s compact fluorescent lamp, or energy-saving lightbulb as they’re otherwise known). I’ve been living with just the one rather ambient bulb for the last few months, because the only other lights in here are a strip of spotlights, which unfortunately seems to eat bulbs. The thing was going through them at a rate of at least one per month and once the first one had gone, the second and third would die soon afterwards. They’re screw-cap bulbs, too, which makes them less easily available and more expensive than your regular bulb. It was getting expensive. So, to wrap up this dull paragraph about light bulbs, I decided to get the CFLs in the hope that they’ll actually last for a while.

Anyway, I didn’t realise just how bloody bright they’d be. I’m glad I cleaned up in here, because seeing everything in their piercing ultra-cold light is bad enough without them illuminating dust, dirt and clutter.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

No Stairway? Denied! Cleaning Out My Closet

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alison  |  May 15, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    Snap, I have the same keyboard on my PC!

  • 2. actinkike  |  November 18, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    Hi,

    I need full kit of solar energy complect for my home, Where I can look at thechnical specifications and examples? We search on internet and not find this. 😦 Please if you have some documentation please post.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I'm James. I'm a 26 year old guy from England with bipolar disorder (currently well controlled). I also have a circadian rhythm sleep disorder (not so well controlled). This blog has charted my journey from mental illness, through diagnosis and, recently, into recovery. It's not always easy, but then, what is?

Archives

Self-righteous note about smoking

As of 12th September 2008 it has been forty five weeks since I quit smoking. So in another seven weeks it'll have been a whole year.

