More Lamotrigine

June 6, 2008 at 9:32 pm 2 comments

I went to my GP today to get more lamotrigine. I now have lots of 100mg tablets. My doctor wants me to go up to 100mg for a week and then to 200mg. This is kind of fast, but within the guidelines. I’m going to ignore medical advice and do it slightly more conservatively. So I’m going up to 100mg for two weeks instead of one, before moving up to 200mg. I’m feeling pretty good at the moment, so there’s no pressing need to get me to the target dose.

On my way back I swung by a guitar shop and picked up a cheap instrument lead to replace the crap one that was supplied with my guitar. I’ve had my guitar for about a month and I’m getting to the point where I can actually play some songs quite slowly. Who’d have thought that practice would pay off? My best song is probably the Tears For Fears tune Mad World. Now if only I could sing.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Brief Update Hypomania

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lee  |  June 6, 2008 at 11:16 pm

    aye practise makes perfect! i used to play mine for about 5-8 hours a day when first got it , was totally addicted an managed to learn real fast my fav thing to play is colin reid’s pink panther

  • 2. Greybeard  |  June 9, 2008 at 11:08 pm

    if you have a pleasant speaking voice and aren’t tone deaf chances are you can learn to sing at least a little. sing loud and from your chest, not your throat. open your mouth really wide. play and sing very slowly and record yourself. get a capo and use it. and, alas, remember that good singers, even more so than virtuoso players, are born and not made.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I'm James. I'm a 26 year old guy from England with bipolar disorder (currently well controlled). I also have a circadian rhythm sleep disorder (not so well controlled). This blog has charted my journey from mental illness, through diagnosis and, recently, into recovery. It's not always easy, but then, what is?

Archives

Self-righteous note about smoking

As of 12th September 2008 it has been forty five weeks since I quit smoking. So in another seven weeks it'll have been a whole year.

