Mary Jane / Avian life

June 19, 2008 at 7:13 pm 1 comment

I can hear two guys talking. I’m not sure if they’re outside or at a window. Either way, I can smell them smoking what definitely seems to be a spliff [cross-cultural explanation: joint, jazz cigarette, the wacky backy, mary jane, pot]. I briefly considered going out and seeing if I could buy some, but then I realised I don’t have any cash on me and, more to the point, smoking pot alone is incredibly dull. My pot-smoking days back at university were mostly defined by meaningless and yet incredibly deep conversations across the kitchen table, dry mouth and half-closed eyes, laughter and vodka. The good stuff was all facilitated by the drug – it wasn’t the drug itself.

Later on I lived with two incredibly pathetic addicts, who would get up and do a couple of bong hits. Play on the X-Box and do a couple of bong hits. Have lunch and do a couple of bong hits. Watch Neighbours and do a couple of bong hits. Play on the X-Box some more and do a couple of bong hits. Order take-away and do a couple of bong hits. Drop out of university and do a couple of bong hits. One of them was a small-time dealer. It was quite interesting seeing him divide a shopping back full of sticky green buds into nice little eighths in little bags. The rest of their behaviour seemed so utterly depressing that, after my 22nd birthday, when I made some awesome hash-filled brownies for everyone to enjoy, I had very little interest in using any more pot.

Earlier, a magpie landed on the ledge outside my window. I stayed still on my couch. It stared at me with a mad yellow eye. I stared back. Then it sidestepped along, heading for the open window. This was obscured by my curtains as I’ve been watching DVD’s on my computer and half-pulling them gets rid of screen-glare. I moved and it flew away. I don’t really want a bird flying around my room. I imagine this would be a singularly stressful event for both of us. A pigeon’s wings brushed against my window today, too. I have no idea why they’re so attracted to it. Considering that I live within a twenty minute walk of a large city-centre, it’s suprising how much avian life there is around here. Not just pigeons and magpies, but collared doves and what I think are swallows. If I wanted nature, I’d live in the country.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Look! I hate the Daily Express

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. The Chuckle  |  June 20, 2008 at 9:23 am

    I’ll swap you for the really nasty gull outside my office window – it’s the one that attacks the window cleaner and sits looking in at me all afternoon. Enjoying your blog BTW!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I'm James. I'm a 26 year old guy from England with bipolar disorder (currently well controlled). I also have a circadian rhythm sleep disorder (not so well controlled). This blog has charted my journey from mental illness, through diagnosis and, recently, into recovery. It's not always easy, but then, what is?

Archives

Self-righteous note about smoking

As of 12th September 2008 it has been forty five weeks since I quit smoking. So in another seven weeks it'll have been a whole year.

