More sleep software / voluntary work

July 8, 2008 at 5:45 pm 1 comment

I’ve abandoned twitter as a method of keeping track of my sleep patterns. Too unreliable and generally annoying. So I spent a fair amount of time today writing a more comprehensive solution with data stored locally in an ordinary text file. Old-school and not very 2.0, I know but hey, it works.

The data looks like this:

2008-07-08 05:32:00 sleep Sleep attempt
2008-07-08 09:36:51 awake Awake
2008-07-08 16:54:55 meds Took meds: 200mg lamotrigine. 800µg folic acid.

(side note: I’m back up to 200mg lamotrigine and haven’t developed any rashes. Yay!)

And this enables me, with some hideous code, to automatically generate stuff like this:

Sleep Times

Sleep Times

Which looks pretty cool. It runs from 7am on the left hand side, and through 24 hours. So you can see that in the last four days, I’ve been falling asleep around 7am and these last couple of days I’ve only got four hours of sleep, or there abouts. The colours are all customisable, too.

So I should have a nice graph to show to the neurologist I’m seeing at the end of August.

In other news, I’m going to see someone about doing voluntary work tomorrow morning. This is scary. On the plus side, it’s within walking distance.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Twittery sleep and sleepy twittering comment spam / volunteering

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. auralay  |  July 9, 2008 at 4:04 am

    congrats on at least getting some sleep every day. Something I’m still trying (and failing) to regulate.

    goodluck at the volunteer stuff 🙂 I’ll send positive thoughts your way.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I'm James. I'm a 26 year old guy from England with bipolar disorder (currently well controlled). I also have a circadian rhythm sleep disorder (not so well controlled). This blog has charted my journey from mental illness, through diagnosis and, recently, into recovery. It's not always easy, but then, what is?

Archives

Self-righteous note about smoking

As of 12th September 2008 it has been forty five weeks since I quit smoking. So in another seven weeks it'll have been a whole year.

