Teeth / Sperm

December 5, 2008 at 10:02 pm 1 comment

My wisdom tooth is gone. The process was incredibly painless. Seriously, the most painful bit was the injection(s) of anaesthetic. And they weren’t much more than a pinch. In between the injection and the extraction, my oral surgeon and I chatted about bipolar disorder – her brother is also bipolar. So that was kind of interesting. The extraction itself took all of twenty seconds. I walked home, ate some food, and waited for the pain to hit as the numbness wore off. But it’s definitely not numb now and, other than some mild discomfort, it seems fine.

So my dental stuff is finished for the moment. From now on it’ll just be regular check-ups.

I have to go and produce a sperm sample next week. I get the feeling it’s going to be fairly surreal, but when the results are back (probably before Christmas) I’ll know whether I’m fertile, infertile or somewhere in between. Apparently you’re not supposed to, uh, deplete the stocks in the four days before. It’s really weird to look at your calendar to see a note that says “No ejaculation until sperm sample!”

Everything else is going well. I have to fill out various forms relating to benefits, which is kind of annoying. But everything else is going well. Obviously I had the day off work today, but I’m still enjoying it and will be back on Monday. I’m still doing my charity stuff, which is fun.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Back at Work Thanks For All The Fish

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. auralay  |  December 6, 2008 at 4:42 am

    Dental surgery is weird- for some people it’s excruciating and for others it’s only a minor irritant.
    I remember when I got my wisdom teeth out- all four at the same time. I was 18 (hard to believe that was almost five years ago, god I’m old). I was prescribed Percocet. I slept for about twelve hours (my surgery was in the morning) and by that evening I was eating solid food with no problem (though it felt really bizarre).

    I was going to say “good luck with the sperm thing,” but that sounded weird.
    And yet, I typed it. :X

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I'm James. I'm a 26 year old guy from England with bipolar disorder (currently well controlled). I also have a circadian rhythm sleep disorder (not so well controlled). This blog has charted my journey from mental illness, through diagnosis and, recently, into recovery. It's not always easy, but then, what is?

Archives

Self-righteous note about smoking

As of 12th September 2008 it has been forty five weeks since I quit smoking. So in another seven weeks it'll have been a whole year.

